B U R L E S O N E X – S T U D E N T S A S S O C I A T I O N N E W S L E T T E R
V O L U M E : 2 0 1 9 I S S U E : A u g u s t

The 2019 Norwood Award

The Burleson Ex-Students Association is very pleased to present the 2019 J. W. Norwood
Distinguished Alumni Award to Keith Seawright who graduated from Burleson High School in 1976.
He has a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Texas Tech University as well as
a Master of Science in Electrical Engineering with an emphasis in Communications and Signal
Processing from Southern Methodist University.

Keith is Director of Advanced Technology Development for Greenville Site Engineering within the
Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (ISR) Systems business segment of L3 Technologies,
Inc. He oversees a department of more than 40 senior technical and PhD staff as well as plans and
manages the company’s annual R&D budget. He has over 30 years experience within the Aerospace
and Defense industry and has been with L3 Technologies since 2011 which is located in Greenville,

He has also worked at Physical Optics Corporation in Torrance, CA, Interphase Corporation in Plano, TX, GE Intelligent Platforms, Embedded Systems in Irving, TX as well as other companies in his professional career.

Keith’s resume includes the following patents and publications:

  • Heterogeneous design process and apparatus for systems employing static design components and programmable gate array sub-array areas (Patent Pending – Application # 20040139411- Smith, Winthrop W.; (Richardson, Texas); Seawright, Harold Keith; (Colleyville, Texas).
  • Automated Lighting: What You Need To Know Before You Buy – Church Production Magazine
    – July 2001.
  • Randall, B., D. Schwab, B. Donham, D. Tuckerman, D. Benson, R. Hsu, N. Brathwaite, S.
    Enquist, K. Carr, S. Wendel, K. Seawright, P. Goodwin, and B. Gilbert: GaAs Digital MCM in
    Si/Cu/Si02 Technology for Clock Rates up to 1 GHz. Proceedings of the International Electronics Packaging Technical Conference (IEPS), Volume One, San Diego, California, September 1993, pp. 615-627.

Keith has been married to Sheri for 35 years this year, and they have two children. Jonathan is a
graduate of UT Dallas in Electrical Engineering and married to Dr. Jenna Mattingly Seawright. Madi is working on her Masters degree in Psychology Counseling at UNT Dallas having completed her
Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology at Abilene Christian University in December 2018. Keith’s hobbies
and interests include Audio Engineering, cars, home automation, and listening to classic rock and
contemporary Christian music.

50th Reunion Celebration

The Class of 1969 celebrated its 50th class reunion on Saturday, July 20th at the Tigner’s Party Barn.
Over 50 classmates and spouses attended the with special appearances from Coach Upshaw and
Coach Barham. Everyone had a great time.

Anyone planning a class reunion in 2020?

Please email the details to Burlesonexstudents@gmail.com and we will include it in the 2020 May and/or August newsletters.  We mail out an estimated 2,200 newsletters to ex-students twice a year? There are more than 2,200 ex-students but we do not have everyone’s address. If you have address information for your classmates, please let us know.

Alumni Donations and Contributions

Thank you for your donations! We presented 14 $1,000 scholarships to selected BHS and Centennial
graduating seniors this year. The Class of 1969 collected $1,144 from their 50th Reunion in
honor/memory of their classmates. Thank you for your generosity and your commitment to the
scholarship program. The Class of 1969 Scholarship will be awarded next May.

We also appreciate the following donations that were made between January 2019 through
July 2019:
In Memory of:                                                       Donor:

Bobby Decker                                                     Letha Grace McCoy
Roy Mercer, Jr                                                   Letha Grace McCoy, Dean Hawkins
Tamara Massey Lewis                                      Letha Grace McCoy
Sanford Mason                                                  Linda Hutchings

Donna Volkman                                                Beverly Volkman Powell
Guy Patterson                                                    Deborah Bransom, Ann Johnson Twidell

Mr. A. Kerr                                                         Celeste Rogers
Bobby Smith                                                      Donna Vinson Smith
Donny Johnson and Gary Tomlin                 Jim Swan
Dorothy Erwin                                                   Gregg Erwin

In Honor/Memory from The Class of 1969:        Donors: Deborah Flippin, Mike Overstreet, Janie Schumacher, Karen Evans Yandell, Allen McVickers, Alicia Deering Duvall, et al

Scholarship Fund Donors:
Baker Foundation               Alicia Duvall              Mike Godfrey

2019 Board Members and Officers

President:  Barbara Stepan Bassham 1968             817-295-5336
Vice President:  Jennifer Bassham Carter 1995     817-614-6922
Secretary:  Open
Treasurer:  C. A. Bean 1957                                        817-295-7217

Dr. Suzanne Cole 1995                    Paul Elliott 1961                    Frank Norwood 1953
Nicole Leblond Davault 1995        Gregg Erwin 1969                 Betty Bryson Shelton 1958
Christene Johnson Yates 1953      Bert Henderson 1967           Patsy Sanders Treece 1961

Contact us at:

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1252, Burleson, TX 76097
Email Address: burlesonexstudents@gmail.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/burlesonexes

Please check out our updated website – www.Burlesonexstudents.com

2019 Banquet

The 37th Burleson Ex-Students banquet will be held on Saturday, September 21st in the cafeteria at Burleson High School located at 100 Elk Drive. We changed the date because the BHS Cafeteria is being used by another school department. The doors will open at 4:30 pm so you will have time to visit before the meal. Please do not arrive earlier as the school has automatic timers for locking and unlocking the doors. Dinner will be served at 5:30 pm. There is no entertainment this year. Just more time to visit. There will be a short business meeting which includes the presentation of awards.

We will have a 50/50 Drawing. You can buy tickets for a chance to win half the total amount sold. The other half goes into the Scholarship Fund. We will also “Pass the Hat/Basket” for donations to the Scholarship Fund.

Please complete the Banquet Registration form below and mail it to us as soon as you can. Don’t
forget to include your payment. We are unable to accept credit cards. We can only accept cash or
check at this time. The price of admission to the banquet is $25 per person. This helps the caterer
plan the amount of food to prepare for the banquet. Please consider joining us for a fun evening.
Please reserve ______ places for dinner @ $25 each – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Membership dues for 2020 @ $5 – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Scholarship fund donation in memory/honor of – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Total Check Remitted – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Email Address_____________________________________________________

Please prepare Name Badges for (please include your class year):

Return to P.O. Box 1252, Burleson, TX 76097-1252 — Please make reservations by September
18, 2019.